Board of Directors





Ron Smith, Secretary

Ron Smith is the founder and President of Angil Design, Inc. and Atdao Systems. An advocate of alternative energy and sustainable living, Ron has been involved in environmental issues since 1981. Since coming to Saipan in 1995, he has embraced the ocean as a Divemaster, Hobie Cat sailor and Kayaker. He earned his Associates in Liberal Arts degree from NMC in 2003.





Dave Guerrero, Treasurer

Dave grew up on Saipan as a young kid, however after Super Typhoon Kim hit the island in 1986, he relocated to Northern California where he went to high school.  Inbetween grades, he would spend summers back on Saipan enjoying the prestine beaches and reconnecting with childhood friends and cousins.  After high school he moved back to Saipan and worked for the local radio station.  Eventually he found his way back to the Bay Area and attended college at CSU, East Bay, graduating with a Master's in Economics.  The call back to the island came when his daughter was born.  Dave now happily lives on Saipan with his wife Tracy and two children Mateo and Lola.      
Dave is currently the Assistant Vice President of Compliance for Imperial Pacific International (CNMI), LLC.  His previous employers are Bank of Guam, Franklin Templeton Investments, Wells Fargo, and Kaiser Permanente.  Dave also taught Economics at Northern Marianas College for a few of years. When Dave is not busy with work or his family, he moonlights as a DJ.  His favorite song at the moment is "That's what I like" by Bruno Mars.      


Frances A. Castro

Frances A. Castro, Board Member

Fran currently works at the CNMI's Bureau of Environmental and Coastal Quality (BECQ) as the Director of the Division of Coastal Resources Management (DCRM).  She's been working in the conservation field for 16 years.  Fran is also the CNMI's Point of Contact to the U.S. Coral Reef Task Force, Pacific Regional Ocean Partnership, Pacific Islands Regional Planning Body for Coastal and Marine Planning and the Focal Point for the Micronesia Challenge.  She is a founding member of MINA and participated in the initial non-governmental organizations workshop which inspired the birth of MINA.  Fran has been on the MINA Board of Directors since 2005.  She also held the MINA Chair position from 2007-2011. 




Don Hess, Board Member

Don is retired but previously was the Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs at the College of the Marshall Islands (CMI).  He has been involved in conservation and environmental education for over 20 years.  Don helped develop the marine science program and marine conservation certificate program at CMI.  He is also one of the founders of the Marshall Islands Conservation Society.  Don has helped author the Reimaanlok – National Conservation Area Plan for the Marshall Islands and the Facilitator’s Guide to Implementing the Reimaanlok Conservation Planning Process.




Sean E. Frink, Board Member

An attorney and partner in the Marianas Legal Strategy Group. Sean has been representing the businesses and people of the Northern Marianas for more than 20 years, has served on and advised countless NGO boards, and worked as a volunteer in many positions throughout his career in support of strengthening the rule of law in the Marianas


Somia T. Quan, Board Member

Somia was born and raised on Saipan and has recently returned home after completing her MBA at the University of Hawaii at Manoa. Motivated by her love of the islands’ beaches and jungles, she is passionate about the preservation and protection of Micronesia’s precious resources and fragile ecosystems, and brings this passion to MINA’s board of directors. Somia is the corporate projects manager of J.C. Tenorio Enterprises Inc.’s business development division.

Geralyn C. Dela Cruz, Board Member

Executive director of Corporate Social Responsibility at Imperial Pacific International (Pacific) LLC, and brings to MINA’s Board of Directors her Bachelor’s Degree in Biology and the talent and experience of her work with non-profit organizations such as the Marianas March Against Cancer and the Lady Diann Torres Foundation. Geri also serves as the Chairwoman of the CNMI Scholarship Program, is a member of Saipan Rotary Club, and Marianas Young Professionals.